Where Does Your County Stand

Where Does Your County Stand

Do you know where your county stands in the way of Animal Control’s ordinances concerning wolf hybrids/wolf-dogs?

“Wild animal” means any of the following:

1. Following members of the Class Reptilia: Order Ophidia (such as, but not limited to, racers, boas, water snakes and pythons) over eight (8) feet in length; and
Order Loricata (such as, but not limited to, alligators, caymans and crocodiles) over three (3) feet in length;
Order Sauria (excepting iguanas) over three (3) feet in length.
2. Following members of the Class Aves: Order Falconiformes (such as, but not limited to, hawks, eagles and vultures which are not kept pursuant to federal or state permit); and Subdivision Ratitae (such as, but not limited to, ostriches, rheas, cassowaries, emus)
3. Following members of the Class Mammalia: Order Carnivora, expressly excepting the domestic dog (canis familiaris) and the domestic cat (felis catus), but including, but not limited to, the family Felidae (such as ocelots, margays, tigers, jaguars, leopards and cougars), the family canidae (such as wolves, dingos, coyotes and jackals); and/order Marsupialia (such as kangaroos and opossums), and/order Chiroptera (bats); and/order Edentata (such as sloths, anteaters and armadillos); and/order Proboscidea (elephants); and/order Primata (including, but not limited to, monkeys, chimpanzees and gorillas); and/order Ungulata (expressly excluding any animal which would be included within the definition of “domestic animal” in Section 8.04.140), including, but not limited to, antelope, deer and bison.
4. Any nondomestic species when kept, maintained or harbored in such numbers or in such a manner as to constitute the likelihood of danger to the animals themselves, to human beings or to the property of human beings.
5. Any species of animal which is venomous to human beings whether its venom is transmitted by bite, sting, touch or other means, except honey-producing bees.
6. Any hybrid animal which is part wild animal and is capable of transmitting rabies, except livestock hybrids, and for which no rabies prophylaxis is recognized or authorized by the State of California. (SCC 0815 § 2, 1990.)

Below is Yolo County’s Animal Code:

“Sec. 6-1.306. Dog.
“Dog” shall mean any domesticated animal of the canine family, excluding domesticated coyotes, foxes, dingoes, wolves, or other wild species of the same, as well as all hybrids thereof, which are defined separately in this Title as “wolf hybrids.” (§ 2, Ord. 703, eff. May 22, 1974, as amended by §2, Ord. 1365, eff. December 6, 2007)”

It’s important to know where wolf-dogs stand in your neck of the woods even for owners who don’t own wolf-dogs, just a Northern breed of some kind.  Why?  Because oftentimes, Huskies, Malamutes, Shepherds (just to name a few) are often mislabeled as a “wolf mix” when they’re not.

Check your county’s ordinances and know your county stands with regards to the wolf-dog.